Introvert Sleuths Halloween Mystery

The last known point for the subject was under a tree. A piece of tissue, melting in the morning dew, would be used as the scent article. It was a good assumption that this was something the subject might have touched.

I threw the harness down near the fragile scent article and let the K9 circle the area on the 30-foot lead to learn what scents were in the vicinity. After slipping the harness over her head and buckling it securely around her deep chest, I switched the lead from her choke to the harness. I gave her the commands to take scent and then to get on trail.

The K9 moved decisively across the lawn and to the sidewalk. The trail was fairly old, probably about 12 hours , but the cool, humid conditions were great for working scent.

We went up the block, passing several houses. She showed no interest, keeping her nose down and giving no head indications. After continuing past a few more houses, the K9 attempted to enter a driveway. I held her back. She glanced over her shoulder at me, clearly unhappy that I would not let her continue. Yup, I thought.

Working her way past the driveway, she next attempted to follow the walk to the front door of the house. Gotcha.

Expert tip: Don’t TP the house where the search dog lives. 

+ + +

Image by my crappy little flip phone

+ + +

If you would like to comment on anything in these posts, I would be delighted to hear from you. Please visit my author’s website to learn more about progress with the Zackie Story series, author appearances, or to send me a message, etc. Or if you prefer, you can also find me on Facebook (at least until another social media platform emerges that will actually safeguard user privacy). Feel free to friend me and send me a message so I’ll know you’re not just a bot.

Soul SearchSoul ScentSoul Sign, and Soul Seek novels of supernatural suspense, have been described as Marley & Me meets The Sixth Sense. Readers have praised these novels for the very human stories behind the hauntings that create unexpected plot twists, drama, and even moments of humor. The Zackie Stories are available for purchase as ebook, audiobook, and paperback on Amazon and Audible, and free on Kindle Unlimited.

If you enjoy the Zackie stories, please, please consider leaving a short review on Amazon and/or Goodreads and/or Bookbub. Your review makes a difference and is incredibly valuable, drawing in other readers and providing access to promotional opportunities that require a specific number of reviews to engage. I’ll be your best friend forever if you write a review.

If you would like to subscribe to this blog, click on the three bars at the upper right. The next full post will be available on or before the last day of the month.

Introvert Sleuths Halloween Mystery

3 thoughts on “Introvert Sleuths Halloween Mystery

Leave a comment